Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Ahoy Sailorettes! Its Pin Up Paula here with this weeks Sunday Style Post!

This week I’m going to take you dehttps://heysailorblogs.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=1385&action=editep in to my own personal wardrobe, and believe me, it’s a deep wardrobe!

I am very excited for the Autumn/Winter Trends! My 3 Favourites being:

Tartan, which rolls back around most Autumn/Winters.

Monochrome, which is always classic and chic.

Pink, a new, quite unique A/W trend.

So rather than run out to the high street and spend a fortune building a new clothing collection for the trends, I had a wee look to see what I already had, and I’m very happy with what I uncovered.

Monochrome

Image

(Left to Right)

Trousers: H&M, Faux Fur Stole: New Look, Hat: Primark, 1 Shoulder Tops: Primark, “Love” Necklace: Primark,

Jacket: H&M, Big gold Chain: New Look, Pleather Skirt: Primark, Frill Skirt: Miss Selfridge, Silver Chain: Primark

Rocking the Monochrome is all about staying simple. simple colours (obviously black and white) and keeping accessories minimal. You can stop monochrome from being boring by mixing materials. Instead of a black denim and a white shirt, go for leather trousers, instead of going for a plain jacket go for a fur gillet instead, instantly turning the look from boring to chic in seconds. If however, if you would like to add a little colour, go for colourful (neon being my personal fave) nails or a bright lip!

Tartan

Image

(Left to Right)

Dark Tartan Dress: Vintage (Primark have a similar one), Red Tartan Pinafore: Miss Selfridge,

Coat: River Island, Both Scarfs: Vintage

The tartan trend seems to re surface every autumn/winter, this year it has a little more of a punk edge. I’m not very Punky though to be honest, so this is my advice if, like me you love the trend but can’t pull off the punk look. The key thing with tartan is to keep your main tartan piece the focus, so anything else (Shirts, tights, jackets) simple colours, don’t clash patterns, it’s far too difficult with tartan and I’ve never seen it pulled off, it’s a fashion myth. You can be brave with accessories, the more expensive looking the better, think Scottish royalty.

Pink

Image

(Left to Right)

Bag: Primark, Necklace: Primark, Dress: Vintage, Jacket: H&M,

Hat: H&M, Bag: H&M, Top: Topshop, Pearls: Vintage, Skirt: H&M

This trend is very different from any other Autumn/Winter trend I’ve experienced. Pink is much more associated with spring because spring is the time of pastels. However I plan to embrace this change and I have looked out all my favourite pink pieces. The thing about this trend is that it’s not really as “Princess-y” as you would imagine. The pink trend is much more grown up, think, Elle Woods circa Legally Blonde 2. Tailored pink coats, pink knitwear and feminine skirts and dresses, mix the pinks with nudes to keep it classy or wear with all black if you not as brave with girly colours.

So before you go out and blow a fortune trying to keep up with the new trends have a wee look in your wardrobe to see what you already have! If your anything like me I bet you will find loads of wee gems you completely forgot about.

So what is your favourite Autumn/Winter trend?

Keep up to date with all the Hey Sailor goings on remember you can like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter, Instagram and Pinterest. Come say hi! We love having a natter.

Till next time!

PPâš“